Liberal Democrats fight all seats in Cambridge, promising change at City and County Councils

At the close of nominations for the council elections in Cambridge today Liberal Democrat candidates have been nominated for all 54 seats on both the city and county councils in Cambridge, as well as for the Mayor and Police and Crime Commissioner of Cambridgeshire and Peterborough. 

Cllr Tim Bick, Lib Dem leader on the city council, said:

"To have all seats on both of our councils up for election at one time is rare in Cambridge, and it makes May 6th a really important opportunity for people to set the direction of our local government. Wherever you live in the city, you will have the chance to support the Liberal Democrats."

Cllr Lucy Nethsingha, Lib Dem leader on the county council, said: 

"It's a privilege to campaign amongst a set of Lib Dem candidates as diverse as the city they aim to represent. As the only party with the power to defeat both Labour on the city council and the Conservatives on the county council, the Liberal Democrats are in pole position to make the change that people are yearning for after all the lessons of the pandemic and years of discord and muddle locally."

Cllrs Bick and Nethsingha also thanked those Lib Dem councillors who are retiring from office at this election. From the county council - Barbara Ashwood, Nichola Harrison and Amanda Taylor; and from the city council - Greg Chadwick, Colin McGerty, Dan Summerbell and Damien Tunnacliffe. 

Cllr Bick said: 

"Contribution as an elected councillor in public office is a major personal commitment that individuals make, often on top of other careers and responsibilities. We would like to say a big thank you our colleagues who are stepping down this time, having worked hard for the residents they have represented."

Liberal Democrat candidates for the 2021 Cambridge Elections

Candidate for Mayor of Cambridgeshire and Peterborough: Aidan Van de Weyer

Candidate for Police and Crime Commissioner of Cambridgeshire and Peterborough: Rupert Moss-Eccardt


Rosy Ansell (County Candidate); Elizabeth Parkin, Sophie West and Zoe Zhang (City Candidates)


Fionna Tod (County Candidate); Rory Clark, Tim Ward and Hannah Whitehouse (City Candidates)


Alastair Gadney (County Candidate); Michael Franklin, Cheney Payne and Caroline Stoddart (City Candidates)

Cherry Hinton

Gillian Moore (County Candidate); James Hill, Archie McCann and Freddie Poser (City Candidates)

Chesterton (County division only)

Ian Manning (County Candidate)

Coleridge (City ward only)

Tim Brunton, Freddie Fisk and Peter McLaughlin (City Candidates)

East Chesterton (City ward only)

Michael Bond, Bob Illingworth and John Leighton (City Candidates)

King's Hedges

Richard Rathwell (County Candidate); Andy McKay, Joshan Palmer and Laurence van Someren (City Candidates)


Yemi Macaulay (County Candidate); Tim Bick, Anthony Martinelli and Katie Porrer (City Candidates)


Lucy Nethsingha (County and City Candidate); Markus Gehring and Josh Matthews (City Candidates)


Mark Argent (County Candidate); Judy Brunton, Emmanuel Carraud and Cosmo Lupton (City Candidates)

Queen Edith's 

Alex Beckett (County Candidate); Richard Eccles, Daniel Lee and Jennifer Page-Croft (City Candidates)


Sam Oliver (County Candidate); Friso de Graaf, Laura Ryan and John Walmesley (City Candidates)


Philippa Slatter (County Candidate); Alan Cox, Ingrid Flaubert and Olaf Hauk (City Candidates)

West Chesterton (City Ward only)

Jamie Dalzell, David Grace and Shahida Rahman (City Candidates)



Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.